High School Students and Students in Vézelay

Whether they are high school students or students,today's world of young people, often saturated with images and noises, leaves little room for silence, interiority, coherence.

In this sense, the discovery of Vézelay is a privileged experience which predisposes everyone to the recognition of universal laws which are rooted in the experience of being a man, to become it fully.

Discover below our proposals dedicated to High School Students

High School Students and Student at the Visitor's House - duration 1h15

Duration : 1h15

Stop on the way to the Basilica of Vézelay to understand why this high place is so exceptional through a film and a workshop led by our guides a discovery of the art and the secrets of the builders who erected the basilica there is more than 900 years ...

The film

In the projection room, " In the shadow of the Light Reveals through architecture and sculpture the exceptional encounter between stone and light.

The Workshop

A model renders the race of the sun on the basilica of Vézelay and allows to appreciate how, and why, the monks builders created plays of light inside the abbey.
The commented reading of the Vézelay basilica plan offers historical, technical and symbolic references that help to walk in this stone vessel.
Titles reproduced within sight of you invite to read the carved images in their original context and listen to their timeless messages.

In the Basilica

Following the visit to the Visitor's House

  • that to say le(S) guide(S) of the House accompany young people in the Basilica of Vézelay according to a route that leaves room for sensitive experience and silence. He encourages personal involvement in the discovery of space and sculpture. Duration: about 45 minutes The Visitor's House takes care of the reservation of the passage of the group in the Basilica,
  • that to say the teachers accompany their young people in the Basilique de Vézelay.

Before or after the visit

Several options can be organized around the visit that complement and enrich the experience of young people ...

  • before: The History Themed Walk - Duration 1h45. Walk in the footsteps of pilgrims by evoking the great figures of the history of this medieval city. A way to make contact with the place in a lively and natural way. The historic march in the footsteps of pilgrims
  • after: The Art of Seeing, drawing in the Basilica - Duration 2h15. Preparation for the Visitor's House then in the Basilica, pencils in hand, go to meet the builders and let yourself be inspired by the beautiful work. The Art of Seeing, drawing in the Basilica
  • after: The Marquee Reading Workshop - Duration 2h15. What are these stones still telling us in the Basilica to us in the XXIe century? A reading to make links to the present and enlighten those who want to go further. The Marquee Reading Workshop
  • after: The Word Workshop - Duration 2h
    Every young person is invited to express orally in front of others the fruit of his arrival in Vézelay. Prior to his intervention, a preparation is proposed to him through the theatrical experience, to discover the requirement of a word that has authority.

See our day proposals: The Visitor's House for High School Students

View our day proposals: The Visitor's House for Students

Les Lycéens et les Etudiants à Vézelay

Qu’ils soient Lycéens ou Etudiants, les univers des jeunes aujourd’hui, souvent saturés d’images et de bruits, ne laissent que peu de place au silence, à l’intériorité, à la cohérence.

En ce sens, la découverte de Vézelay est une expérience privilégiée qui prédispose chacun à la reconnaissance de lois universelles qui s’enracinent dans l’expérience d’être homme, de le devenir pleinement.

Découvrez ci-dessous nos propositions dédiées aux Lycéens et Etudiants

Lycéens et Etudiant à La Maison du Visiteur – durée 1h15

Durée : 1h15

Halte indispensable sur le chemin menant à la Basilique de Vézelay pour comprendre pourquoi ce haut lieu est si exceptionnel à travers un film et un atelier animé par nos guides une découverte de l’art et les secrets des bâtisseurs qui ont érigé la basilique il y a plus de 900 ans…

Le Film

Dans la salle de projection, « À l’ombre de la Lumière » dévoile à travers l’architecture et la sculpture l’exceptionnelle rencontre entre la pierre et la lumière.

L’Atelier

Une maquette restitue la course du soleil sur la basilique de Vézelay et permet d’apprécier comment, et pourquoi, les moines bâtisseurs ont créé des jeux de lumière à l’intérieur de l’abbatiale.
La lecture commentée du plan de la Basilique de Vézelay offre des repères historiques, techniques et symboliques qui aident à cheminer dans ce vaisseau de pierre.
Des chapiteaux reproduits à portée de regard invitent à lire les images sculptés dans leur contexte d’origine et à écouter leurs messages intemporels.

Dans la Basilique

A la suite de la visite à la Maison du Visiteur

  • soit le(s) guide(s) de la Maison accompagnent les jeunes dans la Basilique de Vézelay selon un itinéraire qui laisse place à l’expérience sensible et au silence. Il encourage l’implication personnelle dans la découverte de l’espace et de la sculpture. Durée : environ 45 minutes La Maison du Visiteur se charge de la réservation du passage du groupe dans la Basilique,
  • soit  les professeurs accompagnent leurs jeunes dans la Basilique de Vézelay.

Avant ou après la visite

Plusieurs options peuvent s’articuler autour de la visite qui viennent compléter et enrichir l’expérience des jeunes…

  • Avant : La Marche Historique – Durée 1h45. Marcher sur les pas des pèlerins en évoquant les grandes figures de l’histoire de cette cité médiévale. Une manière de prendre contact avec le lieu de façon vivante et naturelle. La marche historique sur les pas des pèlerins
  • Après : L’Atelier du Regard – Durée 2h15. Préparation à la Maison du Visiteur puis dans la Basilique, crayons en main, partez à la rencontre des bâtisseurs en vous laissant inspirer par le bel ouvrage. L’Atelier du Regard
  • Après : L’Atelier Lecture de Chapiteaux – Durée 2h15. Que nous disent encore ces pierres dans la Basilique à nous au XXIe siècle ? Une lecture pour faire des liens au présent et éclairer ceux qui voudront aller plus loin. L’Atelier Lecture de Chapiteaux
  • Après : L’Atelier Parole – Durée 2h
    Chaque jeune est invité à exprimer oralement devant les autres le fruit de sa venue à Vézelay. Au préalable de son intervention, une préparation lui est proposée via l’expérience théâtrale, pour découvrir l’exigence d’une parole qui a autorité.

Consulter nos propositions de journée : La Maison du Visiteur pour les Lycéens

Consulter nos propositions de journée : La Maison du Visiteur pour les Etudiants