The Marquee Reading Workshop

The language of stones ...

Marquee Reading

The capitals have things to tell us. Before the books, the men made the stones speak. Take the time to listen to them. If their messages seem to you sometimes written in a foreign language, our guide is there to help you to decipher it.

The Marquee Reading Workshop is held in the basilica.

Half in silence, half in sharing.

He will leave you lasting memories, the astonishment of being able to be reached in the heart by a voice from the depths of time.

Progress of the reading workshop of Chapiteaux

Firstly :

Basilica of Vézelay reading of Chapiteau
  • Receive
    The participants of the workshop are invited by the guide to gather around the same marquee for so as to "listen" to the image and to name the different forms down to the details.
  • Read
    Then in the light of the biblical and patristic tradition, and in some cases reference to other ancient sources, the guide places the images in the context theological, philosophical and mythological of the twelfth century.
  • Interpret
    Drawing on the initial observation of the image offered by the craftsman and a reading enlightened by tradition, each in silence takes the time to welcome the sculpture as a word addressed to him personally.

In a second phase :

  • transmit
    The group is made up of duets or trios. Each small group is entrusted with the discovery of a new sculpture that he will explore according to the previous approach to guide the eyes of all the participants of the workshop . This time when one make the stone speak , a way to make it heard in the present, to make life spring up for us today, in short to actualize it; when the XIIst century speaks to 21st !

In practice

Duration : 2h45
Price : Adults: 20 € / pers. Reduced: 15 € / pers. Groups: 18 € / pers. School: 12 € / pers.
The Visitor's House takes care of the settlement with the Basilica.
Before participating in this workshop, it is advisable to follow the Visitor Centre tour and to have already discovered the Basilica.

Booking

For For individuals, the Visitor's House offers workshops reading capitals in December around the winter solstice, when the capitals are alive with light at certain times of the day. Dates and times are published on our facebook page.
For groups and school dates and times on request. Minimum package of 180 €
Contact: + 33 (0) 3 86 32 35 65 - maisonduvisiteur@orange.fr

L’Atelier Lecture de Chapiteaux

Le langage des pierres…

Lecture de Chapiteaux

Les chapiteaux ont des choses à nous dire. Avant les livres, les hommes ont fait parler les pierres. Prenez le temps de les écouter. Si leurs messages vous semblent parfois écrits dans une langue étrangère, notre accompagnateur est là pour vous aider à la déchiffrer.

L’atelier Lecture de Chapiteaux se tient dans la basilique.

Moitié dans le silence, moitié dans le partage.

Il vous laissera des souvenirs durables, l’étonnement d’avoir pu être atteint en plein cœur par une voix venue du fond des âges.

Déroulement de l’atelier lecture de Chapiteaux

Dans un premier temps :

Basilique de Vézelay lecture de Chapiteau
  • Recevoir
    Les participants de l’atelier sont invités par le guide à se réunir autour du même chapiteau pour être à « l’écoute » de l’image et en nommer les formes jusque dans les détails.
  • Lire
    Puis à la lumière de la tradition biblique, patristique et en référence dans certains cas à d’autres sources antiques, le guide situe les images dans le contexte théologique, philosophique et mythologique du XIIème siècle.
  • Interpréter
    Fort d’un premier regard sur l’image offerte par l’artisan et d’une lecture éclairée par la tradition, chacun dans le silence prend le temps d’accueillir la sculpture comme une parole qui lui est adressée personnellement.

Dans un deuxième temps :

  • Transmettre
    Le groupe est constitué en duos ou trios. Chaque petit groupe se verra confier la découverte d’un nouveau chapiteau qu’il explorera selon la démarche précédente afin de guider à son tour les regards de tous les participants de l’atelier. Ce temps où l’on fait parler la pierre est une façon de la faire entendre au présent, d’en faire jaillir la vie pour aujourd’hui, en somme de l’actualiser ; quand le 12ème siècle parle au 21ème !

En pratique

Durée : 2h45 
Tarif : Adultes : 20€ / pers. Réduit : 15€ / pers. Groupes : 18€ / pers. Scolaires : 12€ / pers.
La Maison du Visiteur se charge du règlement auprès de la Basilique.
Avant de participer à cet atelier, il est conseillé de suivre l’atelier-découverte et d’avoir déjà découvert la Basilique.

Réservation

Pour les individuels, la Maison du Visiteur propose des ateliers lecture de chapiteaux au mois de décembre autour du solstice d’hiver, quand les chapiteaux sont éclairés en direct à certaines heures du jour. Dates et horaires sont publiés sur notre page facebook.
Pour les groupes et scolaires dates et horaires sur demande. Forfait minimum de 180€
Contact : + 33 (0)3 86 32 35 65  – maisonduvisiteur@orange.fr