Hélène Ramin: Robert Pirault or the Moulin Mystique

Interview of Hélène Ramin by France Catholique on the occasion of the release of the book "At the mill school"

You preface Robert Pirault's book. Who is he ?

Hélène Ramin : Robert Pirault lived a few years in Vézelay as a Franciscan from 1962 to 1968 when the Basilica was the subject of a restoration campaign, in particular of the upper room of an arm of the cloister which has become the Lapidary Museum. Like an ant, he was passionate about the smallest debris he watched in the middle of the rubble of the construction site. He saved some fragments of manuscripts and other objects from the 12th and 13th century and set to work to try to reconstruct the monastic life of this prosperous abbey, at the time of great pilgrimages.

During these years, Robert Pirault had many opportunities to guide in the Basilica. During the cold season and the silence of winter, he was one of those privileged visitors to La Madeleine who, by dint of looking and studying the texts, have opened up precious paths for the interpretation of the sculptures.

Convinced of the topicality of these words of stone thanks to their symbolic content, he was keen to transmit his own works and in particular his approach to the famous Moulin Mystique, perhaps the most beautiful capital of the whole.

In a word, Robert Pirault is an eternal questioner of the meaning we give to our present. Today, he lives in the Corbières region.

Isn't Vézelay too often seen as a work of art to the detriment of an act of praise?

Hélène Ramin : Does not the beauty of a work of art provoke the opening of the heart, precisely where praise begins?

Yes, the Basilica of Vézelay strikes with its great beauty and arouses by this very beauty an admiration, awe, inner resonances.

It was then that a unique encounter took place where we were able to perceive the purpose desired by the monks and builders of the time: to make the stones sing in praise of the Creator.

What makes Vézelay unique?

Hélène Ramin : First, when we quote Vézelay, we name a whole, a hill, a village, an abbey. The uniqueness of the site is undoubtedly due to the harmony of the whole, a quality all the more remarkable as it appeared during a history of violent conflict between temporal and spiritual powers while the abbey was being built. at the top.

Indeed the coherence between natural and built heritage is palpable: a hill that looks like heavenly Jerusalem when, in the early morning in autumn or spring weather, a necklace of mist lets emerge its stack of houses surmounted by the large abbey while that at the same moment appear through the large windows of the choir, the first beams of the east.

Coherence of the dialogue between plants and minerals that we experience in particular on the ramparts whose ramparts encircle the city, reminding it of its past as a stronghold. So many correspondences that bring it closer to the City or “everything together is one” according to the song of the psalmist.

A “whole” which contains the best and the worst in a single life, a single community with its contradictory elements.

How not to make the link with the great Mary Magdalene to whom the Basilica is dedicated, a name, a holiness which is enough to evoke humanity cracked and transfigured by the light of the Risen One, as expressed by the remarkable luminous phenomena radiating the body of the building in the periods of Easter and the solstices.

Is this marquee unique in France?

Hélène Ramin : Yes, at least for what remains of sculpted capitals from this period. On the other hand, the theme of the mill, the grindstone, the grinding of the grain or the grape press, naturally developed at the time in the context of work essential to survival.

The theme of crushing is obviously powerfully evocative of the passion of Christ and of any saving dereliction. Crushing is also the breaking up of the bark of words to taste and make taste the fruit, the essence of the Word.

For example, as developed by Robert Pirault, we find it imagined by Abbot Suger for a stained glass window in St Denis with the apostle Paul turning the millstone.

In Vézelay, the action is a little different: it is the wheel and the cross-shaped mill which, occupying the central place in the composition, seem to accomplish by themselves this revealing work of the flour.

The character to the right of the mill, being probably the great prophet Moses, pours the grain of the Law into the mill hopper while putting his foot on a sort of pedal, an action he seems to perform effortlessly as if he were participating. to the movement of the wheel.

The image is powerful because it is a sign that a transformation is taking place with the consent of men and that, ultimately, it is less a laborious work of transformation than of a revelation to be received as we have it. show the protruding eyes of Paul who are astonished at this providential manna generously pouring into the bag whose collar he holds with both hands so as not to lose anything.

What is its meaning and how to get into "the school of the mill"?

Hélène Ramin : This image sculpted almost 900 years ago is still relevant today because it contains symbols that help to live: the grinding of grain to reveal something new, the state of grace of two men united in their common task, the style of the drapes with which they are dressed, insignia of their respective missions, the play of pleats, manifestation of the common inspiration that wears them, the vegetation which frames them as if it naturally participated in the fruitfulness of their work ...

The symbol plays like the hinges of a door opening towards ever more interiority and therefore new understandings. We never stop interpreting. Besides, as all great wisdom teaches, who can contain the universe and stop the course of time? This is how the ancients wanted to offer those thirsty for meaning, the means to immerse themselves in this ocean of life that is God, to paraphrase the historian Gilson.

The strength of Robert Pirault's book is entirely contained in this humble immersion carried by the treasures contained in the biblical and patristic writings of the time. It takes its reader to a depth that explodes the topicality of the teaching sculpted before our eyes.

Instead of sticking to the only theological exegesis, for example, that of the first covenant being fulfilled by the newness of Christ, or even the passage from the old to the new covenant, he quite simply suggests to his reader 'peel with him the apparent content to reach as much as possible the core of things and events, a gradual unveiling that gives the taste to leave all conformism to be invited to "be reborn from above.

Going to the Moulin school is to let yourself be won over by the need for a job with inestimable salary because it begins in our flesh.


Learn more about the book “At the Moulin school"

Hélène Ramin : Robert Pirault ou le Moulin Mystique

Interview de Hélène Ramin par France Catholique à l’occasion de la sortie du livre « A l’école du moulin »

Vous préfacez le livre de Robert Pirault. Qui est-il ?

Hélène Ramin : Robert Pirault a vécu quelques années à Vézelay comme franciscain de 1962 à 1968 alors que la Basilique faisait l’objet d’une campagne de restauration notamment de la salle haute d’un bras du cloître devenu Musée Lapidaire. Comme une fourmi, il s’est passionné pour le moindre débris qu’il guettait au milieu des gravas du chantier. Il sauva quelques fragments de manuscrits et autres objets du 12ème et 13ème siècle et se mit au travail pour tenter de reconstituer la vie monastique de cette abbaye prospère, à l’heure des grands pèlerinages.

Au cours de ces années, Robert Pirault eut maintes occasions de guider dans la Basilique. Durant la froide saison et le silence de l’hiver, il fit parti de ces visiteurs privilégiés de La Madeleine qui à force de regarder et d’étudier les textes ont su ouvrir des chemins précieux pour l’interprétation des sculptures.

Persuadé de l’actualité de ces paroles de pierre grâce à leur contenu symbolique, il eut à cœur de transmettre ses propres travaux et notamment son approche du fameux Moulin Mystique, peut-être le plus beau chapiteau de l’ensemble.

En un mot, Robert Pirault est un éternel questionneur du sens que nous accordons à notre présent. Aujourd’hui, il vit retiré dans la région des Corbières.

Vézelay n’est-elle pas trop souvent vue comme une œuvre d’art au détriment d’un acte de louange ?

Hélène Ramin : Est-ce que la beauté d’une œuvre d’art ne provoque pas l’ouverture du cœur, là où précisément commence la louange ?

Oui, la Basilique de Vézelay frappe par sa grande beauté et suscite par cette beauté même une admiration, un émerveillement, des résonances intérieures.

C’est alors que se produit une rencontre singulière où l’on est à même de percevoir la finalité voulue par les moines et les bâtisseurs de l’époque : faire chanter les pierres à la louange du Créateur.

En quoi Vézelay est-elle unique ?

Hélène Ramin : D’abord, quand on cite Vézelay, on nomme un tout, une colline, un village, une abbaye. La singularité du site tient sans doute à l’harmonie de l’ensemble, une qualité d’autant plus remarquable qu’elle est apparue au cours d’une histoire conflictuelle violente entre pouvoirs temporels et spirituels alors que l’on édifiait l’abbaye au sommet.

Effectivement la cohérence entre patrimoine naturel et bâti est palpable : une colline qui a des allures de Jérusalem céleste quand, au petit matin par temps d’automne ou de printemps, un collier de brume laisse émerger son empilement de maisons surmonté de la grande abbatiale tandis qu’au même instant apparaissent par les larges fenêtres du chœur, les premiers faisceaux du levant.

Cohérence du dialogue entre le végétal et le minéral que l’on éprouve en particulier sur le chemin de ronde dont les remparts encerclent la cité lui rappelant son passé de place forte. Autant de correspondances qui la rapproche de la Ville ou “tout ensemble fait corps” selon le chant du psalmiste.

Un “tout ensemble” qui contient le meilleur et le pire en une seule vie, une seule communauté avec ses éléments contradictoires.

Comment ne pas faire le lien avec la grande Marie-Madeleine à laquelle est dédiée la Basilique, un nom, une sainteté qui suffit à évoquer l’humanité fêlée et transfigurée par la lumière du Ressuscité, tels que l’expriment les phénomènes lumineux remarquables irradiant le corps de l’édifice dans les périodes de Pâques et des solstices.

Ce chapiteau est-il unique en France ?

Hélène Ramin : Oui, du moins pour ce qui nous reste de chapiteaux sculptés de cette époque. Par contre le thème du moulin, de la meule, du broyage du grain ou du pressoir à raisins, s’est naturellement développé à l’époque dans le contexte des travaux indispensables à la survie.

La thématique du broyage est évidemment puissamment évocatrice de la passion du Christ et de toute déréliction salvatrice. Le broyage c’est aussi l’effraction de l’écorce des mots pour goûter et faire goûter au fruit, à l’essence de la Parole.

Par exemple, ainsi que le développe Robert Pirault, on le retrouve imaginé par l’abbé Suger pour un vitrail de St Denis avec l’apôtre Paul faisant tourner la meule.

A Vézelay, l’action est un peu différente : c’est la roue et le moulin en forme de croix qui, occupant la place centrale dans la composition, semblent accomplir d’eux-mêmes ce travail révélateur de la farine.

Le personnage à la droite du moulin étant probablement le grand prophète Moïse, verse le grain de la Loi dans la trémie du moulin tout en posant son pied sur une sorte de pédalier, une action qu’il semble accomplir sans effort comme s’il participait au mouvement de la roue.

L’image est puissante car elle est signe qu’une transformation s’opère avec le consentement des hommes et que, en définitive, il s’agit moins d’un travail laborieux de transformation que d’une révélation à recevoir telle que nous le montrent les yeux globuleux de Paul qui s’étonnent de cette manne providentielle se déversant généreusement dans le sac dont il retient le col de ses deux mains pour ne rien en perdre.

Quel est sa signification et comment se mettre « à l’école du moulin » ?

Hélène Ramin : Cette image sculptée il y a bientôt 900 ans est encore d’actualité parce qu’elle recèle des symboles qui aident à vivre : le broyage du grain pour dévoiler du neuf, l’état de grâce des deux hommes unis dans leur tâche commune, le style des drapés dont ils sont revêtus, insigne de leurs missions respectives, les jeux de plissés, manifestation de l’inspiration commune qui les porte, la végétation qui les encadre comme s’il elle participait naturellement à la fécondité de leur ouvrage…

Le symbole joue comme les gonds d’une porte ouvrant vers toujours plus d’intériorité et donc de nouvelles compréhensions. On ne cesse d’interpréter. D’ailleurs, comme l’enseigne toutes les grandes sagesses, qui peut contenir l’univers et en arrêter le cours du temps ? C’est bien ainsi que les anciens ont voulu offrir aux assoiffés de sens, des moyens pour s’immerger dans cet océan de vie qu’est Dieu pour paraphraser l’historien Gilson.

La force du livre de Robert Pirault est toute entière contenue dans cette humble immersion portée par les trésors contenus dans les écrits bibliques et patristiques de l’époque. Il emmène son lecteur à une profondeur qui fait éclater l’actualité de l’enseignement sculpté sous nos yeux.

Au lieu d’en rester à la seule exégèse théologique, par exemple, celle de l’alliance première s’accomplissant par la nouveauté du Christ, ou encore passage de l’ancienne à la nouvelle alliance, il propose tout simplement à son lecteur d’écorcer avec lui le contenu apparent pour atteindre autant que possible la moelle des choses et des événements, un dévoilement progressif qui donne le goût de quitter tout conformisme pour se laisser inviter à “renaître d’en haut”.

Se mettre à l’école du Moulin, c’est se laisser gagner par le besoin d’un travail au salaire inestimable parce qu’il commence dans notre chair.


En savoir plus sur le livre “A l’école du Moulin